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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
 

FISH AND WILDLIFE 
& 

LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 

RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

 
PURPOSE 

The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or 
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources 
of Rhode Island. 
 

AUTHORITY 
These regulations are adopted pursuant to Title 20, Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, and 
42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35-18(b)(5), Administrative Procedures 
Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended. 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS 
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations in 
accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures Act of the Rhode Island 
General Laws of 1956, as amended. 

 
APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed 
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3. 
 
SEVERABILITY 

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any 
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the 
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby. 

 
SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS  
 On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and 

regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of 
 Part IV shall be superseded. However, any enforcement action taken by, or 

application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules 
and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time 
the enforcement action was taken, or application filed. 
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations 
PART IV - SHELLFISH 

 
4.1 Licenses:   
 

 4.1.1  Commercial Licenses:  See “Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing 
Licensing Regulations”. 

 
 4.1.2   Residents Recreational Harvest:  Residents are not required to obtain a 

license for the harvest of shellfish provided they do not exceed the non-commercial 
(resident's) daily catch possession limit and provided that such shellfish shall not be 
offered for sale  RIMF REGULATION (Penalty - Part 6.6 (RIGL §20-6-9). ref (RIGL 
20-6-1) 

 
4.1.3  Non-Resident Recreational Licenses: 
 

(a) Season:  Every non-resident over the age of twelve (12) years may obtain a 
non-resident, non-commercial annual shellfish license for a fee of two hundred 
dollars ($200) (RIGL §20-2-22(a). 
 
(b) 14-day:  A non-resident may obtain one non-commercial limited license per 
calendar year covering fourteen (14) days including the date of issue, for eleven 
dollars ($11) (RIGL §20-2-22(b). 
 
(c) Non-resident landowner:  A non-resident landowner, as defined in RIGL § 20-1-
3(a)(3), who owns residential real estate in Rhode Island assessed for taxation at a 
valuation of not less than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) may, with proof of 
residential property ownership in the form of a current tax bill from a town or city 
hall showing that the non-resident landowner is current in his or her property tax 
obligation, obtain an annual, non-commercial, non-resident shellfish license for a 
fee of twenty-five dollars ($25).(RIGL §20-2-22(d)). 

 
4.1.4  Shellfish Dredging License - Fees:  A resident of this State shall pay an 
annual fee of two hundred dollars ($200) for a license to take quahaugs, mussels, 
and surf clams by dredges hauled by power boat. (RIGL §20-2.1-5(2)(ii)(A). 

 
4.1.5: No person may possess or take shellfish from the waters of the State of 
Rhode Island for resale or trade unless: 

(a) such person is a legal resident of Rhode Island; and 
(b) such person completes and submits an application for obtains a 

commercial shellfish license as the Director may require; and 
(c) such person while taking or possessing shellfish from Rhode Island waters 

has on his person a valid, legally obtained, shellfish license issued by the 
Department of Environmental Management.  [RIMF REGULATIONS]   

  
4.1.6: A commercially licensed person in a fishery shall only sell, barter, or trade 
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shellfish taken from Rhode Island waters to a licensed shellfish dealer or 
multipurpose dealer. [RIMF REGULATION]  

 
4.1.7: A commercially licensed person in a fishery shall not sell, deliver, or otherwise 
transfer shellfish taken from Rhode Island waters to a licensed shellfish or 
multipurpose dealer without first presenting said dealer, a valid shellfish license 
issued by the Department of Environmental Management.   [RIMF REGULATION] 

 
4.2 Night Shellfishing Prohibited - Penalty for Taking Shellfish at Night:  Notwithstanding 
the provisions of any general or public law to the contrary, any person who takes any 
oysters, clams, quahaugs, scallops, or mussels from any of the waters of this state 
during the hours between sundown and sunrise shall, upon conviction, be punished by 
a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment not exceeding 
three (3) years or by both; and any boat, dredges, rakes, or other equipment used in 
this violation shall be forfeited to the State (RIGL §20-6-23). 
 
4.3 Statewide Catch Possession Limits - (Daily Take) Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, 
Sea Clams, Bay Scallops, Mussels, and Oysters except in Management Areas: 
 

 4.3.1 Resident Limit - No License Required:  Unless otherwise specified in 
Department the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations (RIMFR), any resident of this 
State may without a license, take in any one (1) day during the open season, if appli-
cable, not more than one half (1/2) bushel each of quahaugs, soft-shell clams, sea 
clams, oysters, and mussels, and not more than one (1) bushel of scallops; provided 
that those quahaugs, soft-shell clams, sea clams, oysters, mussels, or scallops shall 
not be sold or offered for sale  (RIGL §20-6-1; Penalty - Part 4.7; RIGL §20-6-9). 

 
4.3.2 Commercial Limit - License Required:  Unless otherwise specified by 
Department Regulations in the RIMFR, a holder of a commercial shellfishing license 
may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to twelve (12) bushels of bay 
quahaugs, twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three (3) bushels of oysters.  
RIGL 20-6-10(a).  Commercially licensed persons may take and/or possess up to 
200 bushels of surf clams, or 26 cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs, in any one 
day (midnight to midnight) (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3, Part 4.4; RIGL 
§20-1-16). 

 
 4.3.3 Non-resident Limit - Licensed Individuals Only:  A holder of a non-resident 

shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not more than one (1) peck each of 
oysters, quahaugs, soft-shell clams, surf clams, or mussels.  Any person taking 
more than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon conviction, one 
hundred dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the prescribed 
quantity or be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both  (Penalty RIGL 
§20-6-10(b)). 

 
4.4 Allowance of Shellfish Taking Under License:   
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(a)  Unless otherwise specified by Department Regulations a holder of a commercial 
shellfishing license may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to twelve (12) 
bushels of quahaugs, twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three (3) bushels of 
oysters. Commercially licensed persons may take up to 200 bushels of surf clams in 
one day  (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3, Part 4.4; RIGL §20-1-16). 

 
 (b)  A holder of a non-resident shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not 

more than one (1) peck each of oysters, quahaugs, soft-shell clams, or mussels.  Any 
person taking more than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon con-
viction one hundred dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the 
prescribed quantity or be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both (RIGL 
§20-6-10). Repealed. 

 
4.5 Method of Harvest:  No person shall take any oysters, bay quahaugs, or soft-shell 
clams from the waters of this State by dredge(s), rakes, or other apparatus operated by 
mechanical power or hauled by power boats unless authorized pursuant to Section 
10.3.1 (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL §20-1-16). 
 
4.6 Soft-shell Clams - Method of Taking:  No person, either as principal, agent, or em-
ployee, shall dig or take by any method other than by forks, rakes, hoes, tongs, or any 
other device operated by hand, from any of the waters of this State, any soft-shell clam.  
Any violation of the provisions of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not less 
than ten dollars ($10) nor more than fifty dollars ($50) (RIGL §20-6-15). 
 
4.7 Penalty for Exceeding Allowance Without License:  Every person who shall take in 
any one (1) day more than one half (1/2) bushel each of oysters, bay quahaugs, 
soft-shell clams, surf clams, or mussels from the free and common fisheries of this 
state, without a license, shall be fined, upon conviction, not exceeding fifty dollars ($50) 
and costs for each one half (1/2) bushel or fraction thereof above the stated limits or be 
imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days, or both. (RIGL §20-6-9). 
 
4.8 Shellfish Management Areas: - Catch Limits for Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea 
Clams, Mussels, and Oysters:  Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Area, Potter Pond, 
Pt. Judith Pond, Ninigret (Charlestown) Pond, Quonochontaug Pond, Winnapaug 
(Brightman) Pond, Potowomut, Greenwich Bay, Conimicut Point, Mill Gut, Kickemuit 
River, Bissel Cove, High Banks, Sakonnet River, and Jenny’s Creek have been de-
clared special Shellfish Management Areas. Each of the above referenced areas shall 
continue to enjoy the designation as a Shellfish Management Area unless modified by 
the Director. 
 

No person may possess more than the maximum Shellfish Management Area daily 
catch limit while in a Management Area.  The following daily catch limits have been 
established for the Management Areas listed above. Note: Conimicut Point Shellfish 
Management Area has different possession limits, see specific regulations in section 
4.11.1. 
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Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters* 
 

4.8.1 - Maximum daily Take possession limit of Bay Quahaugs, Soft-shell 
Clams, Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters (Note: Conimicut Point Shellfish 
Management Area has different possession limits; see specific regulations in 
section 4.12): 

 
(a) Boat Harvest: 

 
(1) R.I. Resident: One (1) peck/day/person; 

 
(2) Commercial (in season):  Three (3) bushels/day/license holder; 
maximum of six (6) bushels/boat/day; and maximum of two (2) 
licensed shellfishers per boat; 

 
(3) Licensed Non-Resident:  One half (½) peck/day/license holder 

 
 

R.I. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person 

Commercial (in season) 

3 bu each/day/license holder 
maximum of 6 bushels 
each/boat/day; and maximum of two 
licensed shellfishers per boat 

Licensed Non-Resident (no 
sale) 

½ peck each/day/license holder 

* Oyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.  
 
(Note: The harvest and possession of oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is 
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2013. See section 4.12.3. 
The harvest and possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is prohibited from 
September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section 4.12.6) 

 
 

(b) Shore Digging: 
 

This maximum daily catch limit for shoredigging of soft shell clams, bay quahaugs, 
mussels, and oysters [in season] is: 
 

(1) R.I. Resident: One (1) peck each/person/day/person; 
 

(2) Commercial (in season):  Three (3) bushels/day/license holder; 
maximum of 6 bushels/boat/day; and maximum of two licensed 
shellfishers per boat; 

 
(i)  Exception: In the Greenwich Bay Management Area, the 
possession limit is three (3) bushels/day/license holder whenever 
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sub-area 1 is open to boat harvest, but one (1) peck/day/license 
holder whenever sub-area 1 is not open to boat harvest. 

 
(3) Licensed Non-Resident:  One half (½) peck/day/license holder. 

 
 

R.I. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person 

Commercial (in season) 

3 bu each/day/license holder 
(Exception: In the Greenwich Bay 
Management Area, the limit is 3 
bu/day/license holder whenever sub-
area 1 is open to boat harvest, but 1 
peck/day/license holder whenever 
sub-area 1 is not open to boat 
harvest) 

Licensed Non-Resident (no 
sale) 

½ peck each/day/license holder 

* Oyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.  
 
(Note: The harvest of possession oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is prohibited 
from September 15, 20103 to September 15, 20136. See section 4.12.3. The 
harvest and possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is prohibited from 
September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section 4.12.6) 

 
 Daily catch limits apply to all Management Areas unless otherwise specified. 
 
4.8.2  The use of diving apparatus is prohibited while shoredigging (RIMF 
REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.3; (RIGL (§20-1-16). 

 
4.8.1 Tagging/Labeling Requirements:  All shellfish taken by licensed commercial 
fishers of shellfish from Shellfish Management Areas must be in a container which is 
tagged and labeled with the fisher’s name, license number, date, and management 
area from which shellfish was removed prior to any of the following: 

-  leaving the waters of the management area which has been approved for the 
harvest of shellfish by the Rhode Island Department of Environmental 
Management; 

  -  shellfish are removed from the boat; or 
  -  shellfish are offered for sale. 
 
(RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL §20-3-3)  
 
4.9 Temporary Shellfish Limit in Shellfish or Marine Life Management Areas:  The 
Department may establish a reduced shellfish limit in any designated Marine Life Man-
agement Area for a period not to exceed sixty (60) days.  The following reduced 
possession limits shall apply for the taking of Bay Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea 
Clams, and Oysters in any area so designated: 
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4.9.1 R.I. Resident: One (1) peck each/day/person; 
 
4.9.2 Commercial:  One (1) bushel/day/license holder; 
 
4.9.3 Licensed Non-Resident:  One half (½) peck/day/license holder 

 
Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea Clams, and Oysters 

Reduced Maximum Daily Take for Marine Life Management Areas 
 

R.I. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person 

Commercial  1 bu each/day/license holder 

Licensed Non-Resident (no sale) ½ peck each/day/license holder 

 
(RIMF REGULATION)  [Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7 (RIGL §20-6-9 or §20-6-10)] 
 
4.10 Greenwich Bay Shellfish Management Area: 
 

4.10.1: The conditionally approved waters of Greenwich Bay are established as a 
Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as Described as the waters west 
of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy 
Point on the Potowomut Shore and is further divided into sub-areas and 
described as follows: 

 
(a) GB Sub-Area 1:  Described as the waters east of a line between the Rhode 
Island Department of Environmental Management DEM range marker located at 
the end of Neptune Street in Chepiwanoxet to the Rhode Island Department of 
Environmental Management DEM range maker located on Cedar Tree Point, 
Warwick, and north of a line between the far northeastern section of 
Chepiwanoxet Point and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old 
Buttonwoods.  
   
(b) GB Sub-Area 2:  Described as the waters west of a line between Sally Rock 
Point and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods; and 
south of a line between the far northeastern section of Chepiwanoxet Point and 
the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods. 
 
(dc) GB Area 3: Described as the waters east of a line between Sally Rock Point 
and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods, and west 
of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy 
Point on the Potowomut Shore. 

 
4.10.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the DEM 
Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.  Regulations by 
the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below. 

Comment [PD20]: Removed for consistent 
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4.10.32 Shore Digging: will be permitted between sunrise and sunset daily.  

 
4.10.3 Boat Harvest in  4.10.4 Greenwich Bay Sub-Areas 1 and 2: The areas shall 
be subject to an annual December harvest schedule established by the Director, 
pursuant to recommendations developed by the Division of Fish and Wildlife (DFW) 
and the RI Marine Fisheries Council (RIMFC). Said recommendations shall be 
submitted to the Director at least sixty (60) days prior to the first scheduled opening. 
The December schedule may include up to forty-eight (48) hours of permitted 
shellfishing, spread over any number of days during the month, excepting 
December 25. 

 
If weather or water quality conditions during the month of December prevent the 
area from opening on two or more scheduled days, the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
(DFW) may modify the December schedule to allow for additional hours or days of 
permitted shellfishing, provided: 

 
(a) the proposed modification(s) is/are submitted in writing to the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife (DFW) by a member of the Marine Fisheries Council, RIMFC 
appointed by the Marine Fisheries Council, RIMFC, who shall represent the 
interests of the commercial shellfishing industry, including harvesters and 
dealers, regarding the proposed modification(s); 
 
(b) the total number of hours of permitted shellfishing for the month does not 
exceed forty-eight (48) hours; and 
 
(c) the re-scheduled hours or days are announced publicly by the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife (DFW) with at least seventy-two (72) hours of advance notice. 

 
4.10.4 Winter Shellfish Harvest Schedule for Western Greenwich Bay (both GB 
Sub-Area 1 and GB Sub-Area 2):  

 
(a) For December 2013:  In accordance with DEM Office of Water Resources, 
“Notice of Polluted Shellfish Grounds” document dated May 2013, GB Sub-Area 
1 and GB Sub-Area 2 are closed to shellfishing beginning sunrise on December 
1 through sunrise of January 1.  

 
(b) On Thursday, January 2, 2014:  shellfishing from a boat will be permitted 
between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon. 

 
(c) From January 6, 2014 through April 30, 2014:  shellfishing from a boat will be 
permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. 

 
4.10.5(c) Default harvest schedules for GB Sub-Areas 1 & 2:  If no action is taken to 
establish specific harvest schedules and/or closures for the December through April 
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harvest season, and harvest seasons subsequent thereto, the sub-areas shall 
revert to the following default harvest schedule: 

 
(a) Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 
P.M. on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second 
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April excepting 
December 25 and January 1 if they fall on a Monday, Wednesday, or Friday. 

 
4.10.6 GB Sub-Area 3 is open to shellfishing from a boat between sunrise and 
sunset daily on an annual basis. 

 
4.11 Sakonnet River Shellfish Management Area: Described as the waters north of a 
line from Sachuest Point to Sakonnet Light.  The northern boundary of the 
Management Area will be an east/west line across the Sakonnet River lying one 
quarter (1/4) mile south of the pipeline found just south of Black Point, so-called, 
and bounded on the west by a north/south line running from Flint Point to 
Taggert's Ferry, so-called.  
 

4.11.1 The following special regulations apply in the Sakonnet River Shellfish Man-
agement Area: the daily take possession limit for licensed dredge boats will be 
limited to 200 bushels of surf clams.  A by-catch of bay quahaugs will be permitted.  
It shall be calculated at the rate of one bushel of bay quahaugs for each ten (10) 
bushels of surf clams in possession of the harvester.  Total by-catch of bay 
quahaugs shall not exceed twelve (12) bushels per vessel.  (RIMF REGULATION) 
(Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3) 

 
4.11.112 Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area:  4.11.1-1:  Certain waters 
adjacent to Conimicut Point are established as a Shellfish Management Area.  This area 
is defined as Described as the waters south of a line running from the pole (Latitude: 
41° 43’ 2.93” North, Longitude: 71° 21’ 27.68” West) on Conimicut Point to the center of 
the Old Tower at Nayatt Point; and north of a line from the western most extension of 
Samuel Gorton Avenue, Warwick and the southern most extension of Bay Road, 
Barrington. 

 
4.11.1-2: Shellfish harvesting in Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area will be 
allowed only when declared open by the DEM Office of Water Resources based upon 
water quality considerations.  
 
4.11.1-3: In the Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area,  
 

4.12.1 Commercial Possession Limit – Soft-shell clams: The daily 
commercial possession limit shall be Three (3) bushels of soft-shell clams per 
day per license holder and a maximum of six (6) bushels per day per vessel with 
a maximum of two commercially licensed shellfishers per boat.  
 
4.12.2 Recreational possession limit – Soft-shell clams:  The daily 

Comment [PD21]: From Part III 
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recreational possession limit for RI residents shall be  For residents, one (1) 
peck of soft-shell clams per day;   and the possession limit for licensed 
recreational non-residents, shall be one-half (1/2) peck of soft-shell clams per 
day. 

 
4.11.1-44.12.3 The daily catch possession limits for shellfish species, other than 
soft-shell clams, shall be the statewide limits as provided by these regulations, 
not those applicable to management areas. 

 
4.12 Shellfish Management Areas Closed to Shellfishing (also see: Areas Closed Due 
to Pollution): 

 
4.12.113 Mill Gut: 4.12.1-1:  Mill Gut Described as the waters of Mill Gut, in the town 
of Bristol, lying south of the northern-most bridge on Colt Drive.  

 
4.13.1 - in Bristol Closed area:  Mill Gut is closed in its entirety until further 
notice, with the exception that between sunrise the second Wednesday in 
December and sunset, April 30 annually the area will be open for the harvesting 
of quahaugs, soft-shell clams, mussels, and oysters in accordance with the catch 
possession limits set forth in section 4.8.   

 
4.12.214 Winnapaug (Brightman) Pond: Described as the waters of Winnapaug Pond 
in its entirety, in the town of Westerly. 

 
4.12.2-14.14.1 - Closed Area: The following area in Winnapaug Pond will be closed 
to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: the area 
north of a line running easterly from a special DEM marker at Big Rock Point (N 41 
degrees 19 minutes 49.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 57.0 seconds), to the 
special DEM marker at the southern end of Larkin's Island (N 41 degrees 19 
minutes 55.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 5.0 seconds),.  The area will be 
bordered on the east by a line running northwesterly the Larkin's Island special 
marker to a special DEM marker adjacent to the end of Bayside Avenue (N 41 
degrees 19 minutes 58.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 9.0 seconds). The 
northern boundary is the shoreline between the Bayside Ave special DEM marker 
and the Big Rock Point special DEM marker. 
  

4.12.315 Quonochontaug Pond in its entirety, in the towns of Charlestown and 
Westerly. 
 

4.12.3-14.15.1: The harvest and possession of oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is 
prohibited from September 15, 2013 to September 15, 2016 (for three years). 

 
4.12.3-24.15.2 - Closed Areas: The following areas in Quonochontaug Pond will be 
closed to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only:  

 
(a)  The western closure area is defined as south of a line running easterly from 

Comment [PD22]: Section does not exist 

Comment [PD23]: Needed to remove 
heading as adding language to describe area. 
Closed areas described as subset in each SMA 
as applicable  

Comment [PD24]: From Part III 

Comment [PD25]: From Part III 

Comment [PD26]: From Part III 
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the special DEM marker at the end of Quahaug Point (N 41 degrees 20 minutes 
0.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 39.5 seconds), to a second special DEM 
marker at the northern end of Nope’s Island (N 41 degrees 20 minutes 5.0 
seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 1.0 second). The area will be bordered on the 
west by a line running south from Quahaug Point to a special DEM marker 
located on the barrier beach shoreline (N 41 degrees 19 minutes 51.5 seconds, 
W 71 degrees 44 minutes 40.0 seconds). The southern boundary will be the 
shoreline between the barrier beach special DEM marker and Nope’s Island 
special DEM marker. 

 
(b)  The eastern closure area is defined as east of a line running southerly from 
the special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 21 minutes 1.1 seconds W 71 
degrees 42 minutes 33.4 seconds, to a second special DEM marker located at N 
41 degrees 20 minutes 41.0 seconds W 71 degrees 42 minutes 44.1 seconds; 
and bound by the eastern pond shoreline between the special DEM markers.  
(RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3) 

 
4.12.416 Ninigret (Charlestown) Pond; in its entirety in the Town of Charlestown. 
 

4.12.4-14.16.1 - Closed Areas: The following area within Ninigret Pond in 
Charlestown will be closed to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops 
by dip net only: all waters within an area formed by the following points: from (“A” N 
41 degrees 20 minutes 41.7 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 24.3 seconds, the 
northeast corner of the Ninigret Conservation Area parking lot) following the 
shoreline to (“B” N 41 degrees 20 minutes 49.6 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 
4.6 seconds, a DEM sign approximately 500 meters eastward of “A”); from “B” 
northward to (“C” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 31.0 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 
22.2 seconds, the Lavin’s Landing Marina launching ramp); from “C” following the 
shoreline to (“D” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 10.1 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 
40.9 seconds, a DEM sign on the westernmost end of Reeds Point); from “D” 
southward to “A”. 

 
4.12.517 Potter Pond in its entirety, Town of South Kingstown, west of the bridge 
at Succotash Road. 
 

4.12.5-117.1: Closed Areas: The following area within Potter Pond in South 
Kingstown will be closed to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by 
dip net only: An area within Sycamore Cove defined as north of a line running 
easterly from a special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 23 minutes 2.0 
seconds, W 71 degrees 32 minutes 13.0 seconds; to a second special DEM marker 
located at N 41 degrees 23 minutes 1.0 second, W 71 degrees 31 minutes 59.5 
seconds; and bound by the northern pond shoreline between the special DEM 
markers. 
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*PUBLIC HEARING ITEM #13*  
Bristol Harbor Shellfish Management Area Boundaries 

 
4.2218 Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Management Area: 
 

4.2218.1 The waters of Bristol Harbor described below are designated as a Shellfish 
Management Area. This area is defined as that area of Bristol Harbor southerly of a 
line between Johnson's Dock (so-called) on the west side of Bristol Harbor and 
CRMC permitted dock #419 located at 163 Poppasquash Road (so called 
Rockwell’s Dock) to the northwest corner of the Coast Guard Dock, on the east 
side of Bristol Harbor Rockwell Pier municipal parking lot in Bristol Harbor, and 
north of a line between CRMC Permitted Dock # 1601 at the boat house to the 
rear of 363 Poppasquash Road (so called Johnson’s Dock) Rockwell's Dock 
(so-called) on the west side of Bristol Harbor, and the northwest corner of the Coast 
Guard Dock in Bristol Harbor.  The area is bordered on the west by the three (3) 
foot contour line along the shore between Rockwell's Dock and Johnson's Dock 
Dock #419 and Dock # 1601 and on the east by the existing pollution line. 

 
4.22.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the DEM 
Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.  Regulations by 
the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below. 

 
4.2218.2 Boat Harvest: 

 
(a) For December 2013:  shellfishing from a boat will not be permitted. 
 
(b) Beginning January 3, 2014:  shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only 
between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: Mondays, 
Wednesdays, and Fridays. 
 
(c) From February 1 through April 30, 2014:  shellfishing from a boat will be 
permitted from sunrise to sunset seven (7) days a week. 
 
(d) The area is closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through       
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the 
annually established December schedule. 
 
(e) Default harvest schedule:  If no action is taken to establish specific harvest 
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest 
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default 
harvest schedule: 

 
Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 
12:00 Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the 
second Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April 
excepting December 25 and January 1 if they fall on a Monday, 
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Wednesday, or Friday. 
 

4.2419 Bissel Cove/Fox Island Transplant Management Area: 4.24.1: Described at the 
waters of Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters of Narragansett Bay in the town of North 
Kingstown; including the entirety of Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters south of a line 
between pole #275 at the corner of Waldron and Seaview Avenues and the 
southwestern most point of Fox Island (south of the cable area); west of a line from the 
southwestern most point of Fox Island to the northern most point of Rome Point is 
established as a Shellfish Management Area.  
  
 4.24.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the DEM 

Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.  Regulations by 
the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below. 

 
4.12.619.1 Bissel Cove/Fox Island Oyster Harvest Moratorium:  4.12.6-1: The 
harvest and possession of oysters in the Bissel Cove/Fox Island Shellfish 
Management Area is prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015 
(for five years).  (RIMF REGULATION)  (Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7; (RIGL §20-6-9 or 
§20-6-10)] 

 
4.2419.2 Shore Digging:  Shore digging will be permitted daily between sunrise 
and sunset.  

 
4. 2419.3 Boat Harvest: 

  
(a)  Beginning the 2nd Wednesday of December though April 30, 2014 – 
shellfishing from a boat will be permitted from sunrise to sunset seven (7) days 
per week for the harvesting of quahaugs, soft-shell clams, and mussels.  
 
(b)  The area is closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through  
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the 
annually established December schedule. 
 
(c)  Default harvest schedule:  If no action is taken to establish specific harvest 
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest seasons 
subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default harvest 
schedule: 

 
Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 
12:00 Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the 
second Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April. 

 
4.25: Repealed 12/01   
 
4.20  Point Judith Pond, including East Pond, in their entirety in the towns of 
South Kingstown and Narragansett.  
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4.2621 Kickemuit River Shellfish Management Area Regulations:   4.26.1 The area is 
defined as follows: Described as the marine waters of the Kickemuit River are those 
north of a line connecting nun buoy 6 and can buoy 1 at Bristol Narrows. 

 
4.26.221.1:  Upon certification of water quality by the DEM Office of Water 
Resources, shellfishing will be permitted throughout the area between sunrise to 
sunset daily. When the waters are certified for shellfishing by the DEM Office of 
Water Resources shore digging will be permitted when the area is open (in season).  

  
 4.26.3 Repealed 12/01 
 4.26.4 Repealed 2/18/01 
 

4.26.5 Water quality certification will determine whether or not shellfishing is allowed in 
these areas.  Regulations established by the DEM Office of Water Resources shall 
supersede these regulations. (RIMF REGULATIONS)  (Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 
§20-3-3) 

 
4.2722 Potowomut Shellfish Management Area:  The Potowomut Shellfish Management 
Area is divided into the following three areas: 
 

4.27.1(a)22.1 - Area A:  is defined as the area west of a line between the seaward 
end of Sandy Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of a line between the 
seaward end of Pojac Point to buoy "G1" (Round Rock).   

 
(a) Harvesting Schedule:  (1) Commencing May 1, 2013, shellfishing will be 
permitted from sunrise to sunset on: Sundays through Saturdays, seven (7) days 
a week, with a commercial possession limit of three (3) bushels/day/license 
holder. 

 
4. 27.1(b)22.2 - Area B: is defined as the triangular area east of a line between the 
seaward end of Sandy Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and west of a line 
between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and 
south of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club to the seaward end 
of Sandy Point. 

 
(a) Harvesting Schedule:  (1) Area B is closed to shellfishing until further notice.   

 
4.27.1(c)22.3 -  Area C: is defined as the area east of a line between the flagpole at 
the Warwick Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of a line from 
buoy "G1" (Round Rock) to the Warwick Lighthouse.  

 
(a) Harvesting Schedule:  (1) Shellfishing will be permitted from sunrise to sunset 
on: Sundays through Saturdays, seven (7) days a week, with a commercial 
possession limit of three (3) bushels/day/license holder. 

 
4.27.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the DEM Office 
of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.  Regulations by the 
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Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below. 
 
4.2823 High Banks Shellfish Management Area: 4.28.1:  The waters of High Banks are 
established as a Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as the waters of the 
upper west passage south of a line between the seaward end of Pojac Point to the 
Round Rock buoy "G1" and north of a line from the seaward end of the fence between 
the former Davisville Navy property and Pettee Street in the Mount View section of 
North Kingstown to "N6" buoy located mid-bay west of Prudence Island. The area is 
bounded on the east by a line projecting from the easternmost end of Pier 2 at 
Davisville to the Round Rock buoy "G1" and is bounded to the west by the shore. 
 

4.28.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the DEM Office 
of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.  Regulations by the 
Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below. 
 

4.2823.1 Harvesting Schedule:   (a) Commencing May 1, 2013:  Shellfishing will be 
permitted from sunrise to sunset on: Sundays through Saturdays, seven (7) days a 
week, with a commercial possession limit of three (3) bushels/day/license holder. 

 
4.2924 Jenny’s Creek Shellfish Management Area:  Includes waters of Jenny’s Creek 
north of the inlet at Pine Hill Cove.   
 

4.24.1 – Closed Areas: The entire area is closed to all shellfishing until further 
notice  (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.03 (RIGL 20-3-3). 

 
4.13: repealed 12/2001 
 
4.2325 Opening Shellfish on Water:  No person shall possess the meats of more than 
six (6) shellfish while shellfishing on the waters of the State or throw the shells of open 
scallops onto the scallop beds.  (RIGL §20-6-21) [Penalty - Part 6.6; (RIGL §20-6-13)] 
 
4.1426 Transfer of Shellfish from Uncertified Waters:  The Director of Environmental 
Management is authorized and directed, after requiring all necessary safeguards, to 
transfer shellfish from uncertified waters of the State to approved areas.  The Director 
may make rules and regulations governing the re-harvest of those shellfish to the best 
economical benefit of the state after all necessary safeguards to insure their cleanli-
ness. (RIGL §20-6-26; Penalty - Part 4.17; §20-6-29) 
 
4.1527 Dredging, Raking, and Tonging in Transplant Beds:  Those areas to which the 
shellfish are transferred shall be marked out, and dredging, raking, or tonging on them 
shall be prohibited except under the special direction of the Director.  (RIGL §20-6-27; 
Penalty - Part 4.17; §20-6-29) 
 
4.1628 Cost of Transfer of Shellfish:  For the transfer of shellfish pursuant to § 20-6-26, 
the Director is authorized to hire dredge boats or hand-rakers and to set the rate of 
payment.  Any transferred shellfish may be sold by the Director, and the proceeds of 



RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations –   
Part IV - Shellfish 

Page 18 of 29 

that sale shall be retained under the control of the Director for the purpose of assisting 
in the cost of the transfer of shellfish from uncertified waters to approved areas from 
time to time as the transfer becomes necessary or expedient.  (RIGL §20-6-28; Penalty 
- Part 4.17; (§20-6-29) 
 
4.1729 Penalty for Improper Taking of Transferred Shellfish:  Any person violating rules 
or regulations promulgated by the Director of Environmental Management as provided 
for in Sections 20-6-26 to 20-6-28, shall, upon conviction, be subject to a fine not ex-
ceeding five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days or 
both.  (RIGL §20-6-29) 
 
4.1830 Shellfish Grounds - Polluted Area.  For a discussion of the statutes and penalty 
provisions governing shellfishing in polluted areas, refer to Chapter 20-8-1, as 
amended, of the Rhode Island General Laws.  Shellfish harvesting will be allowed in 
all areas, except those areas declared closed by the DEM Office of Water 
Resources based upon water quality considerations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 
20-8.1. 
 
4.19 [Repealed 11/20/02]  
 
4.20 Surf Clams and Ocean Quahaugs. 
 

4.20.1 Gear Restrictions:  The following gear restrictions shall apply to vessels fishing 
in the territorial waters of Rhode Island for surf clams: 

 
4.20.1-1:  It is unlawful for any vessel to operate with any hydraulic dredge with a 
blade, knife, or manifold which is greater than 48 inches in maximum width. 
4.20.1-2:  It is unlawful for any vessel to operate more than one dredge while har-
vesting surf clams. 

 
4.20.2 Trip Limits:  The following limits shall apply to vessels fishing in the territorial 
waters of Rhode Island: 

 
4.20.2-1:  It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than 200 
bushels of surf clams per vessel. 
4.20.2-2:  Except as allowed in Part 6.8.3, it is unlawful for any vessel to catch, 
harvest, possess, have on board, land, or off load, any surf clams which are less 
than 5 inches in the longest shell diameter. 
4.20.2-3: Vessels properly licensed to do so may land surf clams and ocean 
quahaugs legally taken outside the territorial waters of Rhode Island in excess of the 
trip limit established by Part 4.20.2-1, provided that no vessel engaged in fishing for 
surf clams or ocean quahaugs within territorial waters may possess or have on 
board more than the prescribed limit. 
4.20.2-4:  It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than 26 
cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs  (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; 
(RIGL 20-3-3). Comment [PD27]: Redundant with Part XI 
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4.31 MINIMUM SIZES FOR SHELLFISH 
 

4.2131.1 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shell Clams, and Blue Mussels:   
 

(a) Bay Quahaug:  No person shall take or have in his custody or possession 
quahaugs of less than one inch (1") shell thickness (hinge width).  For purposes 
of this regulation, hinge width is defined as the distance between the convex apex 
of the right shell and convex apex of the left shell  ref (RIGL §20-6-11)  (RIMF 
REGULATIONS) (Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3). 

 

(a)(b) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1”) 
shell thickness (hinge width). In addition, Soft-Shell Clams:  no person shall 
take and/or possess soft-shell clams, taken from the free and common soft-shell 
clam fisheries, of a diameter less than two inches (2”) taking the maximum shell 
diameter, or any oysters, taken from the free and common oyster fisheries, 
measuring less than three inches (3”) measured parallel to the long axis of the 
oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are established by the Director, in 
consultation with the Marine Fisheries Council.  

 
4.31.2 Oysters: 
 

(a)  Minimum Size:  Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis of the 
oyster.  ref (RIGL §20-6-11) (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 
§20-3-3) 
 
(b)  Season:  September 15 to May 15 annually.  

 
4.31.3 Sea Clams (Surf Clams) Minimum Size:  Five (5) inches measured parallel to 
the long axis of the clam.  (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL §20-3-3) 

 
4.31.4 Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops prohibited:  Every 
person taking any seed scallops, and who fails to restore them as soon as possible 
to their natural beds in the water from which taken, shall be fined not less than 
twenty dollars ($20) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100), or be imprisoned not 
exceeding thirty (30) days, or both, for each offense.  For the purpose of this 
Chapter, a "seed scallop" means a scallop with a bright, thin, slightly curved shell 
with no foreign adherent, the shell having no well-defined raised annual growth line, 
and the scallop being less than one (1) year old. (RIGL §20-6-17) 
 

4.31.5 Penalty:  Any person who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than 
the minimum size, as delineated above, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than 
ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00) for each and every fifteen 
(15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any person who takes and/or possesses shellfish 
of less than the minimum size commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained 
with shellfish of not less than the minimum size, where the percentage of the less 

Comment [PD28]: Oysters not mentioned in 
title of section; language redundant with 4.21.1 
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than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten percent (10%) of the total piece 
count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, 
or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture of the entire commingled 
and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or container, in 
accordance with the provisions of §§ 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1. (RIGL §20-6-
11). 

 
4.3032 Handling of Shellfish: 
 
 4. 3032.1:  Commercial shellfish harvesters and shellfish aquaculturists shall 

conduct all activities and operations involving or relating to the possession and 
handling of shell stock so as to prevent contamination, deterioration and 
decomposition of such shell stock. 

 
4. 3032.2:  Containers used for storing shell stock must be clean 
 
4. 3032.3:  Boat decks and storage bins used in the harvest or transport of shell 
stock shall be kept clean with potable water or water from the growing area in 
approved classification or the open status of conditional areas. 

 
4. 3032.4:  Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and transport 
shell stock shall assure that said vessel is properly constructed, operated and 
maintained to prevent contamination, deterioration and decomposition of shell stock. 

 
4. 3032.5:  Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and transport 
shell stock shall prevent bilge water from coming into contact with shell stock. 

 
4. 3032.6:  Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a boat to harvest and transport 
shell stock shall provide such vessel with effective drainage to avoid contact 
between bilge water and shell stock. 

 
4. 3032.7:  Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and transport 
shell stock shall locate bilge pumps so that discharge shall not contaminate shell 
stock. 

 
4. 3032.8:  Shell stock shall be washed reasonably free of bottom sediments as 
soon after harvesting as possible.  The harvester shall be primarily responsible for 
washing shell stock.  If shell stock washing is not feasible at the time of harvest, the 
dealer shall assume this responsibility.  Water used for washing shall be from a 
potable water source, or growing area in the approved classification or open status 
of the conditionally approved classification. 

 
4. 3032.9:  The discharge of human sewage from a vessel used in the harvesting of 
shell stock, or from vessels that buy shell stock, within waters of the state is 
prohibited (RIGL §46-12-39). (RIMF REGULATION)  
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4.3133 Tagging of Shellfish: 
 

4. 3133.1:  Commercial shellfishermen must place any and all shellfish taken by 
them (except those shellfish returned to the waters of the harvest area) into 
containers, and must tag each and every container with a “harvester tag” conforming 
to the requirements of section 4.31.2 below, prior to the following: 
 

4.31.1-1(a):  the fisherman leaves the approved waters of the harvest area 
identified on the (see Part XVII – Maps), shellfish management area or the 
aquaculture site identified by the CRMC Assent number in which the shellfish 
were taken; 
4.31.1-2(b):  the shellfish are removed from the boat; or 

  4.31.1-3(c):  offered for sale. 
 

4.3133.2:  The harvester tag shall be durable, waterproof, and sanctioned by the R.I. 
Department of Health.  The tag shall contain the following indelible, legible 
information in the order specified below: 

 
4.31.2-1(a):  harvester’s identification number as assigned by DEM; 
4.31.2-2(b):  date of harvest; 
4.31.2-3(c):  the harvest location as identified on the (see Part XVII – Maps), 
shellfish management area or aquaculture site identified by the CRMC Assent 
number; 
4.31.2-4(d): type (species) of shellfish; and 
4.31.2-5(e):  approximate quantity of shellfish 

 
4. 3133.3: Each tag shall also carry the following statement in bold capitalized type 
“THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS EMPTY OR 
IS RETAGGED AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS” 

 
4. 3133.4:  Commercial shellfishermen shall not place shell stock harvested from 
more than one growing area into the same container.  When the harvester is also a 
dealer, the harvester has the option to tag the shell stock with a harvester tag or a 
dealer’s tag meeting the requirements of the R.I. Department of Health regulations. 

 
4. 3133.5:  Bulk tagging of shell stock will be permitted only with prior approval of the 
Director under the following criteria: 
 

4.31.5-1(a):    when shell stock are harvested from one harvest area on a single 
day, multiple containers may be utilized on a wrapped pallet, in a tote, in a net 
brailer, or other container and the unit tagged with a single tag; and 
4.31.5-2(b): a statement that all shell stock containers in this lot have the same 
harvest data and area of harvest; and 
4.31.5-3(c):  number of containers in the unit.  (RIMF REGULATION)   

 
4.3234 Temperature control of shellfish: 
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4.3234.1:  Shellfish harvesters shall not allow shell stock to deteriorate or 
decompose from exposure to excessive temperature and shall deliver shell stock 
to a licensed dealer before such deterioration or decomposition occurs. 
 
4. 3234.2:  The maximum allowable time between the harvest of shell stock and 
delivery to a dealer shall be twenty hours.  Possession of shell stock in excess of 
20 hours is prohibited. 
 
4. 3234.3:  Ocean quahaugs (Arctica islandica) and surf clams (Spisula 
soliddisma) are exempt from the aforementioned temperature control 
requirements.  (RIMF REGULATION) 

 
4.33- Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of License 
 

4.33.1 - In addition of other penalties provided by law or other rule or regulation, 
any licensed shellfisherman who violates the provision of RIGL § 20-6-24, or these 
rules, or an order issued by the Director shall be subject to suspension, revocation 
or denial of his license in accordance with RIGL §§ 20-2-13 and 42-17.1-2(s). 

 
4.33.2 – Penalties 
 
 4.33.2-1  First violation, up to six (6) months suspension of license. 

  4.33.2-2  Second violation, revocation of license.  
 
4.33:  The Department of Environmental Management may deny renewal of 
shellfisherman license for violation of the provisions of RIGL §20-6-24, these rules or 
any order issued by the Director during a prior license period.  (RIMF REGULATION) 
Repealed. 
 
4.34: Severability -- If any section or provision of these rules and regulations is held 
invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining sections of provisions of these 
rules and regulations shall not be affected thereby.  (RIMF REGULATION) Repealed 

 
*PUBLIC HEARING ITEM # 14* 

Conch 
 
4.35 Conch (Channeled Whelk – Busycotypus canaliculatus and Knobbed Whelk – 
Busycon carica) – General provisions applicable to commercial and recreational taking 
of conch: 

 
(a) Taking by RI state residents only:  The taking of conch from waters under the 
jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island for either commercial or recreational 
purposes shall be restricted to legal residents of the State of Rhode Island. 
(RIMFC REGULATION) 
 

Comment [PD29]: Refers to shellfish buyers 
license – redundant with section 9.2 in Part IX 
“Shellfish Buyers License” 
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(b) Mutilation and/or Possession of Conch Meat; cooked or uncooked:  Prior to 
landing of any conchs taken for either commercial or recreational purposes, No 
person shall mutilate any cooked or uncooked conch by breaking and removing the 
meat from the shell or have in his or her possession any part or parts of any 
uncooked conch so mutilated. In any and all prosecutions under this Section, the 
possession of any part or parts of any cooked or uncooked conch so mutilated 
shall be prima facie evidence sufficient to convict. All conchs are to be landed 
whole in the shell. (Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL §20-1-16) 
 
(c) Unauthorized Hauling of Conch Pots:   No person except the Director may 
haul, unduly disturb, or remove any animal from a conch pot of a person 
possessing a valid commercial fishing license to take conch, or from a 
person fishing recreationally for conch, without the written permission of 
that person. 

 
(d)  Unauthorized Possession and/or Transfer of Conch Pots:  No person 
except the Director may sell, transfer, or have in his or her possession or 
control any conch pot, or associated line (warp) and/or buoy, without the 
written permission of the owner. 

 
(e) Hauling or Setting Conch Pots at Night:  No person shall haul or unduly 
disturb any conch pot within the territorial waters of this state between the 
hours of one (1) hour after sundown and one (1) hour before sunrise.  

 
1. Season 
 
Option #1 – Status quo 

(c) (f) Commercial and Recreational Season:  The season for conch will be open 
from January 1st through December 31st. (RIGL §20-3-2) 
 

Option #2 – 4.4% reduction 
(c) (f) Commercial and Recreational Season:  The season for conch will be open 
from January May 1st through December 31st and will be closed from January 
1st through April 30th (RIGL§ 20-3-2). 
 

Option #3 – 5% reduction 
(c) (f) Commercial and Recreational Season:  The season for conch will be open 
closed from January August 1st through December September 31st and will be 
open during January 1st through July 31st and October 1st through 
December 31st (RIGL§ 20-3-2).  
 

 
2. Legal Minimum Size 
 
Option #1 

(e) (g) Legal Minimum Size of Conch: 
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(1) No person fishing commercially or recreationally shall take, possess, sell, 

possess for sale, or offer for sale any conch with a shell width or shell 
length measuring less than 2-3/4 inches (69.85 mm) in diameter or a shell 
length less than 4-3/4 inches (120.65 mm) the dimensions specified by 
the following schedule: (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL 
§20-1-16). 

 
Year Shell Width Shell Length 
2014 3” (76.2 mm) 5-39/128” (134.74 mm) 
2015 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 5-11/16” (144.46 mm) 

 
OR 

 
Year Shell Width 
2014 3” (76.20 mm) 
2015 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 

 
Option #2 

(e) (g) Legal Minimum Size of Conch: 
 

(1) No person fishing commercially or recreationally shall take, possess, sell, 
possess for sale, or offer for sale any conch with a shell width or shell 
length measuring less than 2-3/4 inches (69.85 mm) in diameter or a shell 
length less than 4-3/4 inches (120.65 mm) the dimensions specified by 
the following schedule. (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL 
§20-1-16). 

 
Year Shell Width Shell Length 
2014 2-7/8” (73.03 mm) 5-15/128” (129.98 mm) 
2015 3” (76.20 mm) 5-39/128” (134.74 mm) 
2016 3-1/8” (79.38 mm) 5-63/128” (139.50 mm) 
2017 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 5-11/16” (144.46 mm) 

 
OR 

 
Year Shell Width 
2014 2-7/8” (73.03 mm) 
2015 3” (76.20 mm) 
2016 3-1/8” (79.38 mm) 
2017 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 

 
Option #3 

(e) (g) Legal Minimum Size of Conch: 
(1) No person fishing commercially or recreationally shall take, possess, sell, 

possess for sale, or offer for sale any conch with a shell width or shell 
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length measuring less than 2-3/4 inches (69.85 mm) in diameter or a shell 
length less than 4-3/4 inches (120.65 mm) the dimensions specified by 
the following schedule. (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL 
§20-1-16). 

  
Year Shell Width Shell Length 
2014 2-7/8” (73.03 mm) 5-15/128” (129.98 mm) 
2016 3” (76.20 mm) 5-39/128” (134.74 mm) 
2018 3-1/8” (79.38 mm) 5-63/128” (139.50 mm) 
2020 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 5-11/16” (144.46 mm) 

 
OR 

 
Year Shell Width 
2014 2-7/8” (73.03 mm) 
2016 3” (76.20 mm) 
2018 3-1/8” (79.38 mm) 
2020 3-1/4” (82.55 mm) 

 
 
(2) Any person who takes and/or possesses conch of less than the minimum 

size, as delineated above, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than ten 
dollars ($10.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00) for every fifteen (15) 
conch that are less than the minimum size and found to be in his/her 
possession. Additionally, if any person who is found in possession of conch 
of less than the minimum size that are commingled and/or otherwise stored 
or contained with conch that are of at least  minimum size, and the 
percentage of the less than minimum size conch is ten percent (10%) or 
more of the total piece count of the conch commingled and/or otherwise 
stored or contained in a package, shipment, or container, the entire 
commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or 
container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture in accordance with the 
provisions of RIGL § 20-1-8((a)(5), 20-1-8(a)(6). 

 
(3) Any person who is found to possess conch in violation of sub-sections 

4.35(a), or 4.35(b), or 4.35.1-1, or 4.35.1-2, or 4.35.1-3 by a court of 
competent jurisdiction shall be punishable pursuant to the provisions of 
RIGL§ 20-1-16. [Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL§ 20-1-16] 

 
(4) In addition to provisions of Subsection 4.35(e)(3), any person who is found 

to possess conch in violation of Subsection 4.35(a), or 4.35(b), or 4.35(d), or 
4.35.1-1, or 4.35.1-2, or 4.35.1-3 by the Administrative Adjudication Division 
consistent with the requirements of RIGL Chapter 42-17.7 may have his/her 
license to harvest issued by the Department suspended or revoked 
consistent with governing, duly promulgated regulations (RIGL§ 20-3-6; 
Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL §§ 20-1-16 and 20-3-6). 
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(h) Fishery Closure due to Eminent Public Health Risk (Bio-toxins):  A 
prohibition on the taking and landing of conchs from any of the waters under 
the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island shall be in effect upon a 
determination by the Office of Water Resources of an eminent public health 
risk caused by the consumption of conchs exposed to biotoxins.  The 
prohibition on the taking and landing of conchs shall terminate upon a 
determination by the Office of Water Resources that an eminent public health 
risk from biotoxins caused by the consumption of conchs no longer exists. 

 
4.35.1 Commercial Taking of Conch (Channeled Whelk - Busycotypus canaliculatus 
and Knobbed Whelk - Busycon carica): 
 

4.35.1-1 License Required for Commercial Taking of Conch:  No person either as 
principal, agent, or servant shall at any time catch or take any conch from any of 
the waters under the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island, or place, set, keep, 
maintain, supervise, lift, raise, or draw in or from any of those waters or cause to 
be placed, set, kept, maintained, supervised, lifted, raised, or drawn in or from 
any of those waters any pot or other contrivance, designed or adapted for the 
catching or taking of conch unless licensed to do so. (Penalty - Part 1.16; (RIGL 
20-1-16). 
 

3. Commercial Possession Limit 
 

Option #1 – Status Quo 
4.35.1-2 Commercial Possession Limit:  A holder of any commercial fishing 
license issued by the State of Rhode Island authorized for the taking of conch 
may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to 35 bushels of conch per 
vessel per calendar day. (RIMFC REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.3, RIGL§ 20-
3-3) 
 

Option #2 – 10% reduction 
4.35.1-2 Commercial Possession Limit:  A holder of any commercial fishing 
license issued by the State of Rhode Island authorized for the taking of conch 
may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to 35 seventeen (17) bushels of 
conch per vessel per calendar day. (RIMFC REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.3, 
RIGL§ 20-3-3) 
 

Option #2 – 20% reduction 
4.35.1-2 Commercial Possession Limit:  A holder of any commercial fishing 
license issued by the State of Rhode Island authorized for the taking of conch 
may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to 35 fourteen (14) bushels of 
conch per vessel per calendar day. (RIMFC REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.3, 
RIGL§ 20-3-3) 
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4. Commercial Conch Quota – Annual Catch Limit 
 
Option #1: 
 

4.35.1-4 Commercial Conch Fishery Quota – Annual Catch Limit (ACL) – 
The Division of Fish and Wildlife shall set an annual catch limit (ACL) for 
the commercial conch fishery.  If the ACL is reached prior to December 31, 
the commercial conch fishery shall be closed for the remainder of the 
calendar year and shall open again on January 1st of the following year. 
 

4.35.2 Reporting Requirements:  Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements 
as set forth in Section 19.14 Dealer Electronic Reporting Requirements, of the RI 
Marine Fisheries (RIMF) Regulations. (RIMF REGULATION) (Penalty – Part 3.3, Part 
19.14.5 (RIGL §20-1-16). 

 
4.35.3 Sales to out of State Dealers:  Out of State Dealers operating within the State of 
Rhode Island are required to obtain a RI Seafood Dealer License and must comply with 
the reporting requirements as set forth in Section 19.14 Dealer Electronic Reporting 
Requirements, of the RI Marine Fisheries (RIMF) Regulations (RIMF REGULATION) 
(Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL§20-3-3, RIGL§20-1-16). 
 
4.35.42 Recreational Taking of Conch (Channeled Whelk – Busycotypus canaliculatus 
and Knobbed Whelk – Busycon carica): 
 

4.35. 42-1 Recreational Possession Limit:  Unless otherwise specified in this 
section or by the RI Marine Fisheries RIMFR Regulations, the possession limit 
for the recreational conch fishery shall be 1/2 bushel per person per calendar 
day, or if a vessel with more than one (1) individual resident onboard is used, a 
maximum of 1 bushel per vessel per calendar day (RIMF REGULATION) 
(Penalty – Part 3.3, RIGL §20-1-16). 

 
4.35. 42-2 Recreational Conch Pot Limit:  A recreational fisherman may place, 
set, keep, maintain, supervise, lift, raise, or draw in from any of the waters under 
the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island, or cause to be placed, set, kept, 
maintained, supervised, lifted, raised, or drawn in or from any of those waters not 
more than five (5) conch pots or traps at any one time. A non-commercial 
recreational conch fisherman shall not offer for sale or sell conchs (Penalty - 
Part 1.16; RIGL §20-1-16). 

 
4.35.5 Unauthorized Raising of Traps, Pots, and Devices:   No person except the 
Director, enforcement officers, and authorized technical personnel of the Department 
may unduly disturb, lift, raise, molest, or remove any animal from a pot, trap, or other 
such device of a person possessing a valid license to take conch, without the written 
permission of that person (RIGL§ 20-4-8; Penalty 20-1-16 - Part 1.16). 

 
4.35.6 Unauthorized Possession and/or Transfer of Pots and Traps:  (a) No person 
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except the Director, Division of Law Enforcement officers, and authorized technical 
personnel of the Department may place, set, keep, maintain, sell, transfer, or have in 
his or her possession any pot, trap, car, or any other device used in taking or holding 
conchs, nor take, remove, or carry away from the beach or shore any pot, trap, car, or 
other device or line (warp) or buoy without the written permission of the owner. 

 
(b) Every person convicted of violating this section shall be fined not more than 
one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense, or be imprisoned not exceeding 
one year, or both, and each pot, trap, car, or other device used in violation of this 
section shall constitute a separate offense. In addition, if that person is licensed, 
his or her license shall be revoked for one (1) year. (RIGL §20-1-6) 

 
4.35.7 Raising Pots at Night:  No person shall raise or unduly disturb any conch pot or 
trap within the territorial waters of this state between the hours of one (1) hour after 
sundown and one (1) hour before sunrise.  Every person violating this section shall, 
upon conviction, be fined not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than five 
thousand dollars ($5,000), or be imprisoned not exceeding one (1) year, or both.  
However, in situations of emergency or upon application being made, the owner of the 
conch pots or traps may be authorized to remove the pots or traps by the Director or the 
Director's designee during the prohibited hours. All boats, pots or traps, or other equip-
ment used in violation of this section shall be seized and forfeited to the state.  (RIGL§ 
20-1-8 and § 20-1-8.1) 
 
4.36 VIOLATIONS FOR NON-COMPLIANCE: If the DFW and/or the Chief of the 
Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-compliance with 
the provisions of these regulations or a permit agreement, the owner and/or 
operator of the permitted vessel shall be advised of such determination and the 
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or by 
personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with the requirements 
set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The 
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity for an impartial 
hearing is available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to 
R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient 
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement as well as the termination of the permit and or the imposition of 
a penalty pursuant to RIGL 20-1-16.  
 
4.37 PENALTIES 
 

4.37.1 Judicially imposed penalty for violations:  Unless otherwise 
specifically provided, the violation of any law or rule or regulation relating 
to wild animals, wild birds, lobsters and fish, marine, freshwater and 
anadromous fisheries and shellfisheries shall be a misdemeanor, 
punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500) or 
imprisonment for up to ninety (90) days, or both (RIGL §20-1-16). 
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4.37.2 Additionally, a person may be subject to the imposition of a 
administrative penalty pursuant to DEM’s “Rules and Regulations 
Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial Marine Fisheries,  
Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, 
licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
4.38  APPEALS 
 

4.38.1  Denial of a license or permit:  Persons denied a license or 
permit may request an appeal as provided by RIGL Chapter 42-17.7 and 
pursuant to DEM’s “Administrative Rules of Practice and Procedure for the 
Administrative Adjudication Division for Environmental Matters” 
 
4.38.2  Enforcement Action:  Any person affected by a decision of the 
Director for an enforcement action pursuant to these regulations may file 
and appeal in accordance with RIGL Chapter 42-17.7 and DEM’s 
Administrative Rules of Practice and Procedure for the Administrative 
Adjudication Division for Environmental Matters. 

 
 
Rule 87.  EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
 

The foregoing rules and regulations “Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Statutes and 
Regulations, Part IV, Shellfish”, after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with 
the Secretary of State this 20th day of November, 2013 to become effective 20 days 
from filing, unless otherwise indicated below, in accordance with the provisions of 
Title 20, Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, and 42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 
42-35-18(b)(5), Administrative Procedures Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 
1956, as amended. 

 
 

_____________________________________                                                                           
Janet L. Coit, Director 
Department of Environmental Management 
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