

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360 235 Promenade Street Providence, RI 02908-5767 401-222-6647 <u>www.dem.ri.gov</u> Rhode Island Relay 711

October 25, 2023

Dear License Applicant,

All 2023 RI commercial marine fishing licenses and vessel declarations will expire December 31, 2023 per the requirements of the RI Gen. Laws § 20-2.1-4. Renewals for the 2024 marine license year opens January 1st and must be completed by February 29, 2024 (excluding dealer licenses, aquaculture licenses, landing permits and recreational lobster pot/diver licenses which may be renewed any time during the licensing year).

License renewals can be done online by logging into <u>RIO - Rhode Island Outdoors - Home</u> or mail application to Office of Boat Registration & Licensing or appear in person M-F, 8:30 am until 3:30 pm at the DEM Office of Boat Registration & Licensing, address listed above. Student Shellfish licenses must be renewed no later than June 30, 2024.

Please note, this is not your renewal application.

Grace period:

Please note February 2024 is a leap year, the renewal deadline date for license renewal is February 29, 2024. Eligible applicants that do not apply for license renewal by the deadline date of February 29, 2024 may apply for renewal during the sixty (60) day grace period for late renewals, which extends the renewal period from March 1, 2024 through April 29, 2024. However, if you apply during the sixty (60) day grace period, the Department is obligated by the requirements of the RI Gen. Laws § 20-2.1-4 to assess an additional \$200.00 late fee. The \$200.00 late fee is in addition to the license fee. No renewal applications will be accepted if postmarked or received after April 29, 2024, nor will a license renewal be issued for an application that is received or postmarked after April 29, 2024. Please be aware that application submittal for a 2024 license does not extend the validity of an expired 2023 license.

Data Reporting:

As a condition of eligibility for license renewal, please be aware that all data reporting must be up to date. Please direct any questions regarding data reporting, logbooks or electronic reporting to the Division of Marine Fisheries at 401-423-1923 or DEM.MarineFisheries@dem.ri.gov. The Office of Boat Registration and Licensing does not accept logbooks.

Method of Reporting:

Multipurpose & Standard Fishing License holders (other than Limited Shellfish License holders) must select one of the following three reporting methods on renewal applications in 2024:

1. Vessel Trip Report (VTR): This is for license holders who fish on a federally permitted vessel with a federal trip reporting requirement. These individuals will continue to submit VTRs to NOAA, RIDMF will utilize the NOAA trip reports for reporting compliance. If additional trips are

taken without a federal reporting (VTR) requirement license holders should also select one of the following methods.

- 2. <u>Electronic reporting through eTrips/SAFIS:</u> This reporting method is free of charge. You may register for online reporting on the Division of Marine Fisheries website at <u>http://www.dem.ri.gov/marine</u> and clicking on "Sign up for Catch and Effort Reporting."
- 3. <u>Paper Catch and Effort Harvester Logbook:</u> If you do not wish to report electronically, you must select to purchase the Paper Catch and Effort Harvester Logbook endorsement (\$25.00) on the application form. If selected, the logbook will be mailed to you by the Division of Marine Fisheries at a later date. If a Paper Catch and Effort Harvester Logbook endorsement is not purchased, the Division of Marine Fisheries will not accept logbook submissions.

Vessel declarations:

On the renewal application, please verify the correct vessel has been commercially declared. If any changes are required to the commercially declared vessel, please complete a new vessel declaration application form to make the appropriate update and submit to the DEM, Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767.

Dockside Sales Endorsement:

If you sell lobsters and crabs dockside, you must select to purchase a Dockside Sales endorsement on your renewal application. The purchase of a Dockside Sales Endorsement will include a dockside paper logbook at no additional cost, which will be mailed to you at a later date.

Stay informed, sign up for marine fisheries notices here: rimarinefisheries-subscribe@listserve.ri.gov

Is your boat registered in Rhode Island? We're excited to announce that DEM will be launching a new feature in the Rhode Island Outdoors (RIO) online system for boat registrations and renewals. Please take a few minutes to set up an account in our system to save time when your renewal becomes due at www.dem.ri.gov/boating.