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Advisory: Tax Division update for tax year 2012 
 
 
The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has set the standard deduction amounts, exemption 
amounts, tax bracket ranges, and other key figures for tax year 2012. 
 
The Tax Division is also preparing to issue important documents for 2012 for taxpayers and 
practitioners. These include employer withholding booklets (available only online) and estimated 
tax forms (to be mailed in early 2012). 
 
 

Standard deduction, exemption amounts 
 
For the Rhode Island personal income tax for tax year 2012, the standard deduction amounts, the 
personal and dependency exemption amounts, and the income ranges within each personal 
income tax bracket have all been increased. The increases, averaging about 4 percent, represent 
inflation adjustments as required by statute. 
 

 
Standard deduction amounts 

 
Filing status: Tax year 2011: Tax year 2012: 

single $    7,500 $   7,800 
married filing jointly $  15,000 $  15,600 
head of household $  11,250 $  11,700 

married filing separately $    7,500 $    7,800 
 

 
Personal and dependency exemption amount 

 
 Tax year 2011: Tax year 2012: 
 $    3,500 $    3,650 
 

 
Phase-out range for personal, dependency exemptions 

 
 Tax year 2011: Tax year 2012: 
 $175,000 to $195,000 $181,900 to $202,700 
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Tax brackets for 2012 
 
The Tax Division has recalculated tax bracket ranges for tax year 2012, as required by statute. 
The recalculations, to reflect inflation, boost the dollar figures in each bracket by about 4 percent 
compared with tax year 2011. 
 
The changes were made to the Rhode Island personal income tax’s uniform tax rate schedule – 
which is used by all filers.   
 
 
 
 
 

 

Rhode Island personal income tax: 
rate schedule for 2011 

 
       Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 
+ percent 
on excess 

of the amount 
over 

 
$          0 

 
$       55,000 

 
$    ---- 

 
3.75% 

 
$             0 

 
55,000 

 
       125,000 

 
2,063.00 

 
4.75% 

 
55,000 

 
125,000 

 
---- 

 
5,388.00 

 
5.99% 

 
125,000 

 
 
 

 
 

Rhode Island personal income tax: 
rate schedule for 2012 

 
       Taxable income: 

Over But not over Pay 
+ percent 
on excess 

of the amount 
over 

 
$          0 

 
$       57,150 

 
$    ---- 

 
3.75% 

 
$             0 

 
  57,150 

 
       129,900 

 
2,143.13 

 
4.75% 

 
57,150 

 
129,900 

 
---- 

 
5,598.75 

 
5.99% 

 
129,900 

 
 
If tax brackets remained constant, a taxpayer might be bumped into a higher bracket solely 
because of an annual wage increase that is intended to help the worker keep pace with inflation -- 
an outcome often referred to as bracket creep.  
 
To help offset the effects of bracket creep, the General Assembly included in Rhode Island tax 
law a provision that requires the tax brackets to be adjusted annually with inflation. 
 
Standard deduction and exemption amounts are adjusted in similar fashion. 
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Old schedule, 
applied to 2011 

tax year. 

New schedule, 
applies to 2012 

tax year. 
 

(Dollar figures are 
higher, having been 

adjusted for inflation.) 
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Withholding tables 
 
The Tax Division has published its booklet of income tax withholding tables for 2012. Employers 
will use the tables to calculate how much Rhode Island personal income tax to withhold from a 
worker’s pay. The tables are adjusted for inflation. 
 
The new tables were constructed based on many of the same principles that were used for the 
2011 tables. However, new for 2012, the booklets include a single, uniform table that employers 
may use to calculate withholding. Employers should use the uniform table no matter the 
employee’s “filing status” (whether “single” or “married filing jointly,” for example.) The uniform 
table reflects a change in state law enacted in June 2010. Each booklet also includes a copy of 
the Form W-4 that employees can use to adjust their withholding. 

 
This year, for the first time, the Tax Division will make the withholding booklet available only 
online, at the agency’s website. 
 
The Tax Division will not offer bulk mailings of the withholding booklets, a move that will save on 
printing and postage costs for taxpayers. 
 
The Tax Division earlier this week began mailing postcards to more than 38,700 employers to 
inform them of the change. The postcards advise employers that the withholding booklets may be 
obtained in any of the following ways: 
 
 by downloading a copy from the Tax Division website: http://www.tax.ri.gov 
 by calling the agency’s forms request line, at (401) 574-8970; or 
 by requesting, via e-mail, an individual printed copy of the booklet, using the following e-mail 

address: TaxForms@tax.ri.gov 
 
The postcards also carry a reminder that certain employers must make withholding tax payments 
to the Tax Division by electronic funds transfer. 
 

Estimated tax booklets 
 
The Tax Division has finalized the form that many taxpayers use to make quarterly estimated tax 
payments. 
 
The agency plans to mail out, in early 2012, about 40,000 copies of the Form RI-1040ES, “Rhode 
Island Resident and Nonresident Estimated Payment Coupons.” 
 
Each will include payment coupons.  
 
 
 
 
 

     -- David M. Sullivan 
       Rhode Island Tax Administrator 

 
 
 

 
Contact:  
 
Neil Downing 
Chief Revenue Agent 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation  
(401) 574-8115   
Neil.Downing@tax.ri.gov 

http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2011/Withholding/RI%20W-4%202012.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2012/Withholding/2012%20Withholding%20Tables%20Booklet.pdf
http://www.tax.ri.gov/notice/eftmand/index.php
http://www.tax.ri.gov/forms/2012/Income/2012%20RI-1040ES.pdf

