

Presented by the RI Rivers Council

2022 Blueways Stewardship Award To be awarded at the Land & Water Conservation Summit July 15, 2022 at the URI Memorial Union

Call for Nominations

The RI Rivers Council (RIRC) seeks nominations for the "Blueways Stewardship Award". This award was traditionally given by the Rhode Island Blueways Alliance and is for an individual who exemplifies dedication to the stewardship and conservation of Rhode Island's rivers, estuaries, lakes and coastal waters. The Blueways Alliance dissolved in January 2022, and the nomination and selection process of the award is now undertaken by the RI Rivers Council.

We are looking for people who meet the following criteria:

- Must be an individual.
- Must have the respect of their peers.
- Must have notable accomplishment(s) in water and watershed management such as:
 - 1. water quality monitoring and protection,
 - 2. development and promotion of trails on water
 - 3. promoting land use that protects waterways,
 - 4. working to make connections between watershed conservation and their community.

Selection process

Nominations must be received by midnight **June 30, 2022.** A letter of nomination should be submitted through email to Veronica M. Berounsky, RIRC Chair at <u>info@ririvers.org</u>, with the heading, "Blueways Award Nomination." If you have questions, please call Kate Sayles at 401.212.0832.

The nomination letter should include the **name of the individual being nominated** and the **name and contact information for the individual making the nomination**. Please also include a short (1-page maximum) description of how the individual meets the criteria listed above. **We do not accept self-nominations**.

Nominations will be reviewed by an award committee comprised of RI Rivers Council board members. The recipient will be announced at a brief award ceremony at the July 15 Land & Water Conservation Summit.

Note: RI Rivers Council appointed members are not eligible for this award while serving their terms. We also do not re-recognize past recipients -- listed below.

Previous Award Recipients:

Richard Grant (Narrow River Preservation Association, 2020) Keith Gonsalves (Ten Mile River, 2019) Ted Callender (Salt Ponds Coalition, 2018) Art Ganz (Salt Ponds Coalition, 2017) Lisa Aurecchia (Woonasquatucket River Watershed Council, 2016) Denise Poyer (Wood Pawcatuck Watershed Association, 2015) Judy Colaluca (Save the Lakes, 2014), Caroline Wells (Town of Warren, 2013), Paul Earnshaw (Buckeye Brook Coalition, 2012), Eugenia Marks (Audubon Society of RI, 2011), Frank Matta (Blackstone River Watershed Council/Friends of the Blackstone, 2010).